Skip to content

Qi Gung Breaks

May 11, 2007

Hanging Screens by Terri SaulHere at Blue Snake Books, some of us take a Chi Gung break every morning. For about 15 minutes we try to feel the size of our Chi balls, tap our meridian points, kick out the kinks, scoop moonbeams, and roll with our dragons.

Qi Gung translates roughly as the act of cultivating Chi. Most martial arts are based on the groundwork of manipulating chi with body movements and breath work. The form we’re learning combines Hawaiian spirituality with Chi Gung, integrating the spirit of Aloha with the harnessing of another kind of wave-like vital energy.

I’m completely new to the practice. So, our fabulous martial arts editor, Anastasia, has provided me with a fine introduction to the art of channeling chi, scooping it up, directing it from the sky, and whirling it around the body by tracing figure 8s with the arms and feet, hips and pelvis, and shoulders. These moves are called Microcosmic Orbits.

Anastasia was the person who demonstrated the routine for my benefit, but the Blue Snake crew learned all of these motions from genuine Chi Gung teachers, two of our authors, Elise Dirlam Ching, and Kaleo Ching, who I have yet to meet. They’ve co-authored our very popular books, Chi and Creativity, and Faces of Your Soul. I can’t wait to meet them both, and read up more on nurturing my Chi.

Fortunately, the practice of exercising at work is becoming more common. My former place of employment encouraged brief yoga breaks for workers who sat most of the day to prevent and cure carpal tunnel syndrome. Our Chi Gung is said to have the same effect. There’s one move called something like Watching the Moon that provides a great stretch of the wrist from the pinkie finger to the elbow.

I find that doing Chi Gung increases my energy level, and brings greater clarity to the early part of my day. I’m particularly fond of the full body shake, heel kicks to the rear, and rolling of the heels in slow motion. I look forward to asking Elise and Kaleo about learning the names for the moves Blue Snake editors and associates have been practicing for the last two years.

Do any of you blog readers take martial arts breaks at work?

By the way, you may register with an email address in order to comment here. All comments will be moderated, and most will be posted. Feel free to join our discussion.

One Comment leave one →
  1. pstarr permalink
    May 19, 2007 3:27 am

    ABSOLUTELY!!!! Of course, it’s easy for me as I work the dreaded overnight shift…but one advantage is that I’m able to practice for about two hours every worknight! 🙂 It keeps me sane…

Leave a Reply

